Venus Bay Surf Life Saving Club's Annual Presentation Night was held Easter Saturday 2019.  This evening is a highlight on the calendar and recognised the achievements of many dedicated members. 


This season we added to our recognition of influential past members by naming the ‘Ian Watson Competitor of the Year’ Award. Ian is the longest continually active member in our club. He has been in either a committee role, or assistant role since 1978 and continues to serve on the Facilities Committee. Ian also was Competition Manager for over 17 years and during that time coached and organised Nipper and Senior Teams to State and National success. The inaugural winner of the award was Austin Timmins.


The President’s trophy is an extremly prestigious award, reserved for the member who has lived the Venus Bay values and given more – way more than what is expected. This year it was awarded to Tom Goode who is a very special member and someone we all look up to every day. He is always the first to offer help. Whether it be additional water safety, mentoring emerging members, travelling hundreds of kilometres to attend tin rattles. Driving to patrol or water safety and all the way home again every day. He has given more on the competition field than anyone and is an inspiration to so many in our club. He is a husband, father, grandfather and a fantastic mate. Tom Goode is a living club treasure and we look forward to continuing to patrol and compete with him for many years to come.


50 Years in lifesaving is unheard of… yet we have a member… a Life Member who has completed exactly that. Ric Mitchell embodies Lifesaving… some would say he is lifesaving. Here are just a few of Ric’s highlights… 

Joined Gunnamatta SLSC 1969- 1977
Joined Venus Bay SLSC 1977- Current Member
Member of Half Moon Bay

Winning John Wishart Memorial Medal 1973
Member Victorian Wieland Shield Team to West Coast USA, 1983
Awarded Victorian State Life Membership
Awarded Life Membership Venus Bay SLSC
Awarded Life Membership Surf Life Saving Australia- 2008
Awarded World Lifesaving Citation of Merit
Awarded World Lifesaving Certificate of Commendation
Awarded Australian Sports Medal, 2000
Refereed numerous Victorian Senior & Junior State Titles
Refereed Australian Senior Inter State Championships- Torquay
Refereed Australian Senior Inter State Championships- Jan Juc
Area Beach Referee – Australian Championships 12 Yrs.
Area Water Referee – Australian Championships 3 Yrs.
Member Carnival Organising Committee Point Leo 1985 Australian Championships

Congratulations Ric on 50 years of distinguished service!! 

A number of members received National Patrol Service Awards on the evening. These awards recognised members who have completed greater than 16 hours of patrol service for a significant period.  These differed to the Long Service Awards which were also presented and recognised members who have given service to the lifesaving movement over a number of years.

The club proudly inducted three new members to the rare honour of Life Membership this season. Allan Latto, Brooke Gee and Kimberley Gee have given over 10 years of distinguished service to our great club. President Craig Watson said 'collectively their membership spans more than 50 years, but individually I cannot think of 3 more worthy individuals to share our club’s highest esteem'.


 President's Award Tom Goode
 Social & Fundraising Award Lisa Gates
Chief Instructor’s Award for Excellence in Education and Training Travis Rowden
 Club Captain's Award Ellie Glasson
 Encouragement Award: Senior Chris Kepert
 Encouragement Award: Junior Clarry Lyons
 Encouragement Award: Cadet James Patterson & Alice Webb
The Ric Mitchell Patrol Person of the Season

Elise McCorriston

Ian Watson Competitor of the Year

Austin Timmins

Trainee of the Year

Ashleigh Kepert

Competition Award: Most Improved

George Curran

Competition Award: Encouragement Katherine Sumaru
National Patrol Service Award - 5 Years Harrison Cumming
Jasmine McJames-Court
Elise McCorriston
Marty McCorriston
National Patrol Service Award - 10 Years Sarah Thompson
National Patrol Service Award - 15 Years

Kimberley Gee
Craig Watson

National Patrol Service Award - 20 years

Brooke Gee

National Patrol Service Award - 30 Years

Paul Marshall

Long Service Award - 30 Years Scott Johnson
David Cumming
Paul Marshall
Ken Schell
Julian Seri
Simonetta Seri
Brett Watson
Craig Watson
Long Service Award - 40 Years Ian Watson
Long Service Award - 50 years Ric Mitchell